Helping preserve the rich history of Briercrest, Saskatchewan
We believe and recognize that our community is a product of our past. We believe it is vitally important to preserve our heritage, and to honour and acknowledge the hard work and achievements of those who came to Briercrest in the early 1900's.
The collection of artifacts and memorabilia from the community were originally housed in the Briercrest Hall on
Main Street. This building was the former Briercrest Community Centre and Theatre It was built in 1938 and had become a Museum in 1987. An addition was added in 1999.
The closing of the Briercrest School lent an opportunity for the museum board members to negotiate the conversion of the school at 400 Main Street (south end of Main) into the new site for the museum. It was decided to use each classroom as a theme. In this way there could be a distinction between categories in the entire collection and still retain an unifying theme of the development of the Briercrest community from its most early origins.
The museum had its Grand Opening at the end of June, 2012.
View of the welcome sign to the village of Briercrest..
The Old Briercrest School
The school building became available and made an ideal location in which to move the museum.
Front of the Museum
A new sign was cut from metal and placed in front of the museum.
The Metal Sign of the Museum
Close up of the metal sign.
The Old Farmyard
A classroom representing the early farming era became "The Old Farmyard".
The General Store
The entrance to the The General Store room.
The General Store
The General Store sold a wide variety of dry goods.
The Ice Cream Parlour
A great place to enjoy a cold treat on a hot summer day.
I Don't know what is here
Have a special occasion coming up or would like a unique family photo?
Visit the Museum and find that perfect vintage backdrop for your photos.
A free-will donation will be accepted.
We have been approved for charitable registration under the Income Tax Act. Receipts will now be given for cash donations.
RECYLING BINS for empty and cleaned pop and beer cans and bottles are located on Main Street across from the Fire Hall. This is used as a source of revenue for the Museum.